Writing Contests
WisRWA holds two annual writing contests. The Write Touch Readers' Award contest is for romance novels published in the previous year. The Fabulous Five contest is for unpublished romance authors. Learn more about these popular contests below.

Fab Five
Write Touch

Write Touch Readers' Award Contest The 2015 Write Touch Readers' Award Contest, our chapter's contest for published authors, is underway. Choose from the following 12 categories:

  • Contemporary, long 84,000 or more (includes series and single title)
  • Contemporary, mid-length 56,000-84,00 (includes series and single title)
  • Contemporary, short 40,000-56,000 (includes series and single title)
  • Erotic Romance
  • Historical, long 89,000
  • Historical, short 40,000-89,000
  • Inspirational
  • Paranormal
  • Romantic Suspense
  • Young Adult Romance
  • New Adult Romance
  • Fiction with Romantic Elements

RWA Members in good standing
Original, published romance fiction with a publication date of 2014

$25 per entry
(WisRWA members are entitled to one free entry as a benefit of membership)

Volunteer Reader Judges - Our judges are enthusiastic romance and women's fiction readers located all over the country. Many comment that they are always looking for new authors -- and they tell us they like to spread the word about books they enjoy!

Top Prize:
National recognition and RWA and media promotion of authors

All entries must be submitted electronically. For more information: writetouch2015.submittable.com.

June 30, 2015

Mary Ann Rivers, Contest Coordinator (maryann @ brainmillpress.com)


Fabulous Five Contest WisRWA is pleased to announce the finalists in the Fab 5 contest. Congratulations to all finalists! And thanks to everyone who participated. Winners will be announced in June. (** indicates WisRWA member.)

Lord Sebastian's Honor – Mary Carson
The Trouble with Misbehaving – Pat Eckhoff
The Secret Affairs of a Duke's Daughter – Jan Leyh
Celestina's Burnings – Annemarie Schiavi Pedersen
His Selkie Bride - Jennifer Rupp **

The Magical Librarian – Nancy Coiner
The Devil's Cradle – Cynthia Jacob
Untouchable Lover – Dawn Linse
Demon's Wager – Jeanne Oates Estridge
Connections Crossed - Mary Vitas

Romantic Suspense
Now and Then – Carla Conrad
Touched – Amy McCarter
Melting Point - Nicolette Pierce **
The Silent Nobles – Sofia Ula
Dark Horse – Janet Walden-West

Single Title
Rescuing Mr. Gracey - Eileen K. Barnes
He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not – Nichole Burgdorf
Down to Business – Michelle Dayton
Sometimes You Need a Hot Highlander – Melonie Johnson **
Buckskin Cody – James Montgomery

Women's Fiction
Weaving a Life – Kate Bowman **
If by Chance - Mary Hawley
Long Overdue – Joyce Hunt
The Last Resort – Kerry Ann Morgan
Pressing Concerns – Lisa Whitaker

Young Adult
Secrets of My Not-So-Perfect Middle School Life – Jill Bevers **
The Sumerlin Curse - Ashley Hearn **
One on One – Tif Johnson
The Virtue of Sin – Shannon Schuren
Frozen Hearts – Pamela Stewart

Building Benjamin – Barbara M. Britton **
A Love Restored - Kelly Goshorn
Return to Chestnut Ridge – Lyndee Henderson
Lilly's War – Joan Koster
The Rebel's Search – Traci Rhodes

Any questions, please contact the FAB Five Contest Coordinator: Molly Maka fabfivecontest @ gmail.com.

Past Contest Winners
Fab Five Contest  
Write Touch Reader's Award